My latest work

J'adore Love Wall Art

The downside of loving paper is that crafting with it sometimes means cutting it up! There are some gorgeous pieces that the very idea of cutting them into 4 x 5 inch pieces puts dread in my heart. Too ruin such beauty!

So, to deal with this difficult problem (and the growing stacks of paper in my apartment) I have started to make some larger pieces, like the Paris love pretty in pink piece shown here. I started with a piece of chipboard recycled from packaging at the pharmacy my mom works at and layered the cardstock over it. The beaded trim was added to the back of the paper and the heart punched paper piece was added over the top. I added the torn, cream paper over the top edge after stamping the corner pieces and glittering them. The medallion is a stamp that I heat embossed and fussy cut out.

After I got that far, I decided the main paper body needed something more.  So I covered the pieces I had already put on with scrap paper and put a stencil by Tattered Angels over the edge and sprayed it with coppery distress ink by Tsukineko. I added the seam binding ribbons and metal brads last, braiding the ribbons loosely first.

Quite a project and a wonderful result for a first attempt at something larger than the cards and gift tags that I normally make. I have some more ideas about using other beautiful papers I can’t wait to try and am altering blank composition books as well. I feel an increased boost to my creativity after this new avenue has opened!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

