Harry Potter, again

I will be the first to admit I use the TV for company. After living alone for a few years, the noise is a great way of filling the silence. Lately, that silence has been filled with the Harry Potter movies.

Over and over again, I watch these people grow and change before my eyes through the wonders of television while crafting at my kitchen counter. Tonight, it’s Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire. Friendships almost ripped apart and dangers survived, for the most part.

I watch them in whatever order I please. Sometimes, I watch them in order, like now. Other times, I have been watching my favorites, the Prisoner of Azkahban, the Order of the Phoenix, and the Half-Blood Prince. I don’t have the last one yet.

For some reason, these are movies I never get tired of. Some “magical” combination of timeless strife against evil and coming of age mixed with wonderful, veteran English actors and actresses and young people coming of age themselves. Every time I watch, I notice something new and fun or make a new connection to the real world.

The other day I was thinking, Voldemort is kind of like Hitler. Both of them are the opposite of the things they pontificate as true. Neither of them is physically the image of the ideal person. Voldemort is not a pure blood wizard. Hitler was not a blond hair, blue-eyed physical ideal. Both of them put out the idea that only certain people have the right to be in charge of everyone else based on physical/blood ideals. Both had no shame in physically forcing others to do what they wanted. Both are charismatic and skilled at aquiring followers. The list goes on and on.

But, it’s time to get back to the movie and creating more fun stuff. Next time, new gift tags!

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

